Home / Elk / Mandatory CWD Reporting: Wyoming Deer & Elk Areas

Mandatory CWD Reporting: Wyoming Deer & Elk Areas

Wyoming Game and Fish Department has ramped up mandatory CWD testing across the state for mule deer, whitetail deer and elk in efforts to continue the tracking and study of Chronic Wasting Disease. There are now six mandatory CWD reporting areas across Wyoming.

Mandatory CWD Reporting Deer Hunt Units: 59, 60, 64, 65, 157, 171

WGFD is also requesting CWD samples from hunters who take deer (either species) in hunt units: 1-6, 59, 60, 64–66, 124, 130, 131, 134, 135, 138–146, 150–157, 165 and 171. 

Elk hunt units that have been selected for CWD sampling include: 7, 19, 33, 34, 41, 45, 47-49, 67–71, 75, 77–85, 88–91, 93, 95, 96, 102–105, 120 and 127. 

We at Eastmans’ urge hunters to do your part in the CWD sampling process, the more we know the better decisions we can make and as always, “the animals cannot speak so we must speak for them.” 


Resource Links


wgfd.wyo.gov – CWD Testing

About Todd Helms

Check Also

$74,000 For Poaching… That’s More Like It!

In a case that reads like a Hollywood movie script, Cody W. Davis plays the …

Drones For Big Game Hunting?

Imagine sitting atop a favorite glassing point and scouting for elk the old fashioned way …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.